Audio-Technica Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones

ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones

A perfect choice for project studio engineers, home recordists and recording musicians, Audio-Technica’s ATH-M30 dynamic stereo headphones offer the highest level of sonic accuracy in a design engineered to provide maximum comfort for hours of listening. The headphones' low-profile, closed-back design provides exceptional clarity and superior isolation in high-volume listening situations. Features include: neodymium magnet structure; lightweight, adjustable cushioned headband; gold-plated stereo 1/8" (3.5 mm) connector with strain relief and screw-on ¼" (6.3 mm) adapter; ultra-flexible 11' cable with single-side exit.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Review 1 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wired headphones to augment wireless

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
KenJ
from Chicago, IL, USA
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very satisfied with the ATH-M30 phones. They work well and sound good plugged into the amplifier or into the computer. Even MP3's sound good. The price is so advantageous compared to the phones the "doctor" ordered! The sound is much better, too. A crisp, linear response lets you adjust the sound to your taste (and ears)
Pros sound quality, price, long cord, linear sound response
Cons you could get tangled in the cord
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We Will See...

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
kyle22
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Audio Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got them recently so I can't comment on the durability, but they produce great sound for the money. They are comfortable and would recommend at this time. We will see how long they last with daily use.
Pros comfortable, partially cancel out unwanted noise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's not to like?

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
griz326
from Montana
Environment:Studio
Expertise:Expert
How Long:Over a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great headphones. Having worn headphones as part of my daily job since 1967, this babies are light, sound good, and work a long time...even the cord has survived.
The earphone pads have finally disintegrated, but they have a lot of miles on them.
Pros Film/Video Production, Studio
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent budget performers!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
pro1137
from Sanborn, Cambria, NY 14132, USA
Environment:Studio
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These headphones are the headphones I mainly use for producing and mixing. Flat and accurate frequency response lets me hear everything I need to hear, the way it is supposed to be heard.
I also tend to use these for casual and critical listening on the go. Good isolation and little sound leak allows me to know only I'm hearing the music, and not bothering anyone around me.
Pros Casual Listening, DJ, Studio, Gaming, Office
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low-cost precision.

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
HouseFox
from Biloxi, MS, USA
Environment:Studio
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Let me first begin by saying that I use the product through my Xenyx 502 mixer's phono output with only the input from my PC's Aux out looped into the jack via the Aux to Phones button. That being said, these headphones sound very good for their price range.
Looks:
Black-on-black usual studio-esque looks; this is not a complaint, because I rarely if ever take these into public. This is mainly because of the high driving requirements of these headphones (65 ohm, man!).
Portability:
None whatsoever, due mostly to the 11.5 foot non-removable cable.
Sound:
True to the product description, these headphones are flat and unforgiving to the mix; I would not recommend these to any bass-head. That being said I'll also mention that they are very precise for closed-back headphones, and bordering on analytical. They don't leak noise at regular listening volumes, either.
Comfort:
These would be fine in this department if I didn't wear glasses. They do press down on the back of the frame and the backside of my ear a little much, which makes listening to them for too many hours at a time a little uncomfortable. Other than that they are very well padded. Manual adjustment of the frame may be required if you have a larger head.
Durability:
These are some of the most durable headphones I've ever used, having used Beats, Sonys, Sennheisers, Bheringers, Philips, etc. The end connector is VERY tough, with a solid metal casing that could probably survive artillery shelling. On that note it would require tin shears to slice the cable.
All in all, this is a very good product if you're looking for an affordable solution for a home studio or any home listening experience.
Pros Casual Listening, Studio, Office, precise, flat
Cons not portable, uncomfortable w/ glasses, non-removable cable
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POOF!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fbarr
from Akron, Ohio
Environment:Videography
Expertise:Expert
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Audio Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never had a pair of headphones to go completely out. I have had shortages in wires but never completely out.
Pros video
Cons dependability
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for transcription

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
mperry48
from New Bedford, MA
Environment:Other
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these headphones after reading all the good reviews about the "true to life" sound quality they deliver. I am a medical transcriber and have to accurately hear what the doctors say in order to produce error-free transcripts. After using my ATH-M30 headphones for a week, my editor let me know how my transcripts had improved, with fewer errors and no "mis-hears". The audio quality is excellent, with none of the static and background hum that my noise-cancelling headphones produced. I wish I had bought them years ago.
Pros Office, durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome First "Professional" Headphones

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Rid4Smart
from Toronto, ON, Canada
Environment:Casual listening
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The M30's deliver a relatively flat response, so your music would sound close to what musicians intended their recordings to sound like. Also, it responds exceptionally well when equalizer settings have been applied to it. For audio quality, it is definitely top notch for this price range. This is my first headphones that are aimed at accurate sound reproduction for studio work, and it really does blow away any of the headsets/headphones that are marketed towards gaming. Even some might even being more expensive than the M30, those gaming products are toys compared to this.
On the negative side, the clamping force is a bit tight so it causes discomfort after an hour of use. You may loosen it by bending the head band backwards with care, so that when it springs back the clamping force is less, but the force may be required for good isolation and hence good bass.
Pros Casual Listening, Film/Video Production, Studio
Cons not comfortable after prolonged use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Matt
from Texas, USA
Environment:Musician
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Over a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these headphones like 6 years ago, and i have been using them for electronic drums, even after all these years they still sound amazing. When i want to listen to music causally with great sound quality i use these, or when i make movies or music on my computer i use these. Highly recommend
Pros Casual Listening, Film/Video Production, DJ, Studio
Cons non
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bens
Calif
 
Please wait while more information about Bens is loaded.
Additional information about Bens could not be loaded.
ATHm30 headset
Posted August 23, 2012
Does this Headset have an attached microphone so it can be used on a computer
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good sound!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Environment:Studio
Expertise:Expert
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very impressed with the flat sound of these headphones. They are perfect for recording and mixing. I was required to get them for my school, (I'm a recording major,) and they are amazing for how cheap they are. The long cable is very convenient in recording situations. They are very comfortable too!
Pros Casual Listening, Film/Video Production, DJ, Studio, Gaming, mixing, mastering, tracking
Cons none!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great headphones!

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
daystar90
Expertise:Novice
How Long:Over a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these headphones a year and a half ago, and they're still working great! I've been very pleased with the quality and with how comfortable they are. I've brought the headphones on many trips, and I use them almost every day on my computer, and they're still working great! I would recommend these to anyone who needed a good pair of headphones at a good price!
Pros Casual Listening, Film/Video Production, Travel, Office
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ATH-M30 Closed-back Dynamic Stereo Monitor Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great phones

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
gman221
from Columbus Georgia
Environment:Studio
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Over a year
I've had these a couple of years and they are still going strong. I'm in the process of finding some replacement ear pad covers. These are getting a little worn, but i use them daily so it's probably inevitable. As for the sound these are very good, especially for vocals, (which is the main thing I use them for when doing first mixes ).Know that they are vocal friendly. I don't use them for mixdown, but for everything else they're great. Got mine in a bundle with the AT 20/20 microphone which is a very nice mic. Look for the bundle @ $99.00, a steal.
Pros Studio, long cord tension spring at plug and a handy spo
Cons leather on ear pads gets worn after extensive use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.