Audio-Technica Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones

ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones

CES Innovations 2013 Design and Engineering Award Recipient
Audio-Technica’s ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® headphones use proprietary active noise-cancelling technology to provide a comfortable listening environment in areas with high ambient noise. Delivering noise cancellation up to a remarkable 95%, the ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® headphones feature Audio-Technica’s new Tri-Level Cancellation™. Mode 1, ideal for use on airplanes, trains and buses, applies maximum noise cancellation to low frequencies. Mode 2, designed especially for use in noisy offices or crowded places, targets the mid-range frequencies, while Mode 3 creates a pristine, peaceful environment ideal for study.
The headphones feature four miniature microphones, two in each earpiece, that pick up ambient noise and create a sound-cancelling signal to effectively block the noise. The ATH-ANC9 headphones also offer a cable with an inline microphone and controller for answering calls and controlling music. The mic and controller support select products, including iPhones, iPads, and many iPods. The microphone has an omnidirectional pickup pattern and it is designed for crisp intelligibility, so your voice will be clearly transmitted without having to speak directly into the mic.
These headphones are designed to offer you crystal-clear sound that makes Audio-Technica the choice of leading artists worldwide. Wherever you happen to find yourself—in the comfort of your living room, in a noisy office, or settling in for a long flight—there is no better way to experience audio or immerse yourself in a peaceful environment.
Read how Active Noise-cancelling Headphones work.
Overall rating:
3.727 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Review 1 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just got my ANC9 and enjoying them!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Simba
from Tampa, Florida
Environment:Casual listening
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Audio Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had the Bose QC15 and Soul SL300 in the past but I prefer my new ACN9 over them. I like the sound quality over both previous headphones and the noise cancellation is almost as good as the QC15. It does produce stronger bass which I prefer, but overall the sound quality is well defined. The headphones are very comfortable and appear to be well made. I’ve had them for only a couple of days so reliability is undetermined. I did recommend this same pair to my friend who travels often. He went with me when I purchased mine and he borrowed it over lunch. We went right back to the store and he bought the other pair in stock. I did purchase the extended warranty thru my retailer so I don’t have to deal with some of the issues I’ve read about on this website.
Pros Casual Listening, Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality Problems

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Marcus
Environment:Travel
Expertise:Audiophile
How Long:Over a year
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Seems I have the same problem as many other posting their review here... The noise cancelling device stopped working after a year (first the left ear and now the right one)
Pros Casual Listening
Cons durability, quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best noise-cancelling ever!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Erico
from Brazil
Environment:Casual listening
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The quality of sound speak for himself. I have tried Beats By Dre and Bose, but the best combination of precise sound and huge noise canceling is present in ATH-ANC9. They still working after battery runs out (but without noise canceling, of course) and the control cable shipped with product works both with my Nexus 4 android phone and my Ipod / Ipad. Battery life is about 15h with rechargeable NiMh.Awesome.
Pros Casual Listening, Travel, Block Noise, Office
Cons don't appear to be sturdy
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Ajbjazz
from Hampden, ME
Environment:Casual listening
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The sound quality of these headphones are great, but after the first month or so, the noise-cancelling function just stopped working, which defeats the purpose of why I bought these headphones in the first place. They are great if you want to spend an outrageous amount of money for a very limited amount of a very enjoyable listening experience.
Pros Casual Listening
Cons poor durability
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great sound quality overshadowed by appalling technical problems

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
chris1234
from Boston, MA, USA
Environment:Travel
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Audio Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the ANC9s at an airport as when I tried them on their sound quality was so brilliant. However, after enjoying them for one flight, I was plagued with incessant problems with the headphones.
First, the noise canceling ability basically stopped working. I explained my problem to customer service and they told me to send them to their HQ in OH, which I did. They then, without informing me, sent the headphones back to me informing me there was no problem. I spoke to the head of customer service explaining that the same problem remained, and he told me to send them in again, at my expense both times. This process took a couple of months.
This time after some pushing, they sent me a new pair. The new pair worked fine for about half a month before the left ear phone (the housing for the battery) began crackling all the time making it near impossible to enjoy listening to any kind of music. I haven't even bothered contacting customer service.
I would not recommend purchasing ANC9s unless you are looking for a way to make your life significantly worse.
Cons poor customer service, plethora of technical problems, short life-span
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Safe2012
from Houston, TX, USA
Environment:Travel
Expertise:Casual listener
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint to eliminate airplane noise on transatlantic flights. These headphones provide excellent sound quality sound eliminating 95% of jet noise. Most of the time battery lasts over 15 hours which takes care of most of the flights. Headphone ear paddings are very comfortable, soft and snug. I recommend these to anyone who travels a lot. They are well worth it.
Pros Casual Listening, Travel, Block Noise
Cons replacing batteries takes a bit of effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Broken within one day

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Dion81
Expertise:Casual listener
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Atleast for the one day I used them they sounded great...
Cons defected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbeleivable Sound!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
dpecino
from Oakville, ON, Canada
Environment:Professional audio
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The balance of frequencies with these are just unbeleivable! Paired with the great noise cancellation system, I will never look back at my old Bose headphones.
Thanks Audio-Technica!
Pros Casual Listening, Film/Video Production, Travel, Studio, Gaming, Block Noise, Office
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best noise cancelling headphones in the world! Period

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
nmbey
from Washington, DC, USA
Expertise:Intermediate
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been an Audio Technica user for quite some time now, and I have to admit the ATH-ANC9 headphones are so impressive.
1) The new Tri-Level Cancellation is so easy to use and extremely useful.
2) The headphones are extremeley comfortable.
3) Most importantly, the audio quality: it is second to none. I have tried all the major companies ie. Bose, Beats by Dr. Dre and Sony... Not only the noise cancelling feature is better, the sound quality and bass is simply remarkable.
Pros Casual Listening, Travel, DJ, Gaming, Block Noise, Office
Cons sound leakage in quiet areas
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just really amazing

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Vico0610
Environment:Casual listening
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Less than a month
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bought the Audio Technica ATH - ATNC9 and i have to say that this headphones are the best i have ever had. nice quality, nice noise cancelling system and confortable.
Pros Casual Listening, Film/Video Production, Travel, Gaming, Block Noise, Office
Cons too big
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ATH-ANC9 QuietPoint® Active Noise-cancelling Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you are considering the Bose Quiet Comfort line - check these out . . .

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
EREHWON
from Akron, OH
Environment:Other
Expertise:Intermediate
How Long:Up to a year
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audio Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ATH-ANC9 provides three noise cancellation modes that adjust for high, medium and low ambient noise. This may sound like feature creep . . . but the result is quite impressive.
This feature almost eliminates the "water pressure" feeling that I encountered with other noise cancelling products. In addition the lower the ambient noise / noise cancellation setting the higher was my perceived overall fidelity of the sound.
I dig this product . . . TWO THUMBS WAY UP!
Pros Travel, Block Noise, Office
Cons on/off switch is a little stiff
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MattyQ
TX/Afghanistan (military)
 
Please wait while more information about MattyQ is loaded.
Additional information about MattyQ could not be loaded.
awesome
Posted December 6, 2012
I had a good pair of noice cancelling panasonics that lasted me about 4 years. While looking for an upgrade I tried the latest BOSE QC and didn't think they souned any better than my Panasonics. I bought these based off other's reviews not having heard them first hand. The noise caneceling and sound quality are amazing. I'm glad I took the leap as this is my first product from AT. I think they just hooked a new customer with these!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)